BookerBookChallenge – The Challenge

Standard

BookerBookChallenge – The Challenge

To those of you who are reading my first blogpost, I would like to start by saying ‘hello’ and thank you for clicking on my blog page. Now I will tell you the purpose of my blog.

I am a bookish person and enjoy reading. My wardrobe is crammed full of books I have read (I could get a massive bookshelf for them all, but it would not fit in the flat I share with my friend).  I was randomly watching the news last year when they announced the 2013 Man Booker Prize winner, which was Eleanor Catton with her debut novel The Luminaries. Whilst consulting Wikipedia on who the author was and what the book was about, I found that from when the Man Booker Prize was initiated in 1969 to the present day, there have been 48 Man Booker Prize winners, so that is roughly one book a year since the prize was introduced (There has been two instances, in 1974 and 1992 where there were two winners, and a ‘lost’ Man Booker Prize winner which I will get to at a later date).

Then the cogs in my mind began to spin; has anyone ever attempted to read all the Man Booker Prize winners since 1969? How long would it take? Now, if you were attempting to do this in a year, you would have to read a Man Booker book a week. I consider myself a fast reader. I finished the entire A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin within two months, but I don’t think I could read a book a week. It’s impossible. You would have to read constantly, sacrificing your social life for reading. This I cannot do. What I could do is read them all in 18 months, then review them in this blog. Also, if I am the first person to do this, I can set my own parameters for success, and if other people decide to undertake this challenge and beat my target, well good for them. Consider this challenge I have inflicted on myself as the literary equivalent of the Three Peaks Challenge.

In order to make it more interesting, I have taken the list of winning books and scrambled up the ordering, so as of January 1st 2014, I will start my challenge by reading Arundhati Roy’s 1997 winning novel, The God of Small Things. I would like to thank my friend Claire for sending me a guide to the winners and so I can put interesting facts about the authors and their books in my reviews. Now, in the words of one famous author and journalist;

“How hard can it be?”

2 thoughts on “BookerBookChallenge – The Challenge

  1. Claire

    James, I love this idea for a challenge and blog! What a great way to read some amazing books and to share your thoughts/discuss them with others. Really excited to be following your progress – I might even have to join you for some of the reads!

    I know what you mean about not being able to read a book in a week. I couldn’t do that either. Once I’ve taken into account work, maintaining a house, cooking, cleaning etc, then a social life (which for me is really only 2 evenings out a week), I really struggle to fit reading a book a week into my time! Still, super excited for this challenge and glad it has come into being following all our conversations about it!

    Claire x

    p.s – no worries about sending the mb stuff from work – will send anything else I get your way!

  2. there are a few people who have a similar goal though none I’ve come across who think they can achieve it within a year. It’s taken me almost three years and I’m still only half way through. Good luck though!

Leave a Reply

